What is the new Twitter safety mode feature and how can I access it?
Ever wanted to block an offensive or harmful account online?
Twitter could be introducing a new feature that automatically does it for you.
Safety Mode allows you to block abusive accounts on the platform for up to seven days at a time. The new feature was first announced in February and follows the introduction of several other measures aimed at improving the safety of users online, including a ‘soft block’ feature, and an intense conversation test that warns users when they’re about to enter a potentially heated interaction.
How does it work?
Once activated, Safety Mode allows you to block accounts using potentially harmful language-like hateful remarks and uninvited replies or mentions-for up to seven days. This means they won’t be able to follow your account, see your Tweets, or send you any direct messages.
The feature is able to assess a Tweet’s content and the relationship between the author and the replier, and automatically blocks an account sending harmful or offensive material. However, this won’t apply to anyone you follow or frequently interact with, and can be undone at any time by going to the Privacy and Safety section of the app and tapping the Safety Mode icon.
Before each Safety Mode period ends, you’ll receive a notification recapping any accounts blocked under the feature. Users can choose to stay in Safety Mode for one, three or seven days, and can block an account for longer by clicking on the person’s profile, tapping the ‘More’ icon and selecting ‘Block’ from the menu.
Comments and posts flagged by Safety Mode can be accessed at any time by tapping the ‘Review Tweets’ icon. You’ll also be able to see who has been blocked and for how long by tapping the Safety Mode icon in the ‘Privacy and Safety’ section.
How do I access it?
If the feature is not automatically turned on for you, you can enable it by following the steps below:
- Open the app and tap Settings and Privacy
- Go to Privacy and Safety
- Tap the Safety Mode icon between the Content You See and the Mute and Block sections
- Select ‘Safety Mode’
Interested in this technology? Why not check out some of other blogs below: