How do I know if I’ve been blocked on messenger?
On JAG we’ve already talked about how you can tell if your message has been read, but how do you know if you’ve been blocked?
Yes, it does happen. Almost all the popular messenger services – iMessage, WhatsApp, Facebook – come with the option to block someone.
If you’re not sure your messages are being delivered, but your signal is fine, then it’s possible you’ve been blocked. Here are some of the signs.
On WhatsApp, there are several ways to tell if you’ve been blocked (although it’s difficult to say for sure).
- Beneath the person’s name is a status update telling you when they were last online. If you’ve been blocked, you won’t see anything
- When you send a message on WhatsApp, there are several ticks that appear on the right-hand side. A single grey tick means that your message hasn’t been delivered, which might mean you’ve been blocked… though it might also mean that the person you’re sending it to hasn’t been able to receive the message yet (e.g. if their phone is off), so by itself it isn’t an indication
- You won’t see any updates to a contact’s profile photo
IOS9 added a phone number blocking feature. On iMessage, it’s much trickier to know if you’ve been blocked, but there are signs to look out for.
- If you’ve been blocked, text messages will send as a blue box and underneath you’ll see the word ‘delivered’. If that word never changes to ‘read’ then it’s possible you’ve either been blocked or ignored… but there’s also a chance they’ve seen the message but not clicked on the thread to mark it as read and reply.
- You could also try calling them. If you’ve been blocked, you’ll go straight through to voicemail after exactly one ring every time
Again, it’s tough to know for sure if you’ve been blocked on Facebook, but there are ways of finding out:
- Search for the person while logged in. If they show up, then you haven’t been blocked, so stop worrying! If they don’t, and you were previously friends on the site, then it could be a sign you’ve been blocked or unfriended – or they’ve left Facebook
- Try searching for the person on Facebook when logged out. If they show up, and they didn’t while you were logged in, then that means they might have changed their settings to stop you (and possibly anyone else) looking for them
- Have you noticed any conversations taking place on your Facebook timeline that seem like they should involve your friend, but their name isn’t appearing? It could be a sign you’ve been blocked
- Check any other social accounts your friend has. Are they still linking to a Facebook account? If they are, and they’re not showing up when you’re logged in, you’ve probably been blocked
Before jumping to conclusions, though, remember that there are often alternative explanations. On Facebook, people sometimes take a break from the site by deactivating their account. On a smartphone, bad signal can affect services like iMessage and WhatsApp.
Let us know if you’ve got any other tips by posting a comment below.