How to stop WhatsApp sharing data with Facebook

WhatsApp has updated its terms and conditions so that the app now shares more user data with Facebook. According to the official post from WhatsApp this is to improve the Facebook user-experience, and also ensure that users see more relevant advertising content on Facebook.

To be more specific, it’s your phone number that will be shared if you accept the new terms and conditions. However, if you would prefer not to share this information with Facebook, you have two options:

  1. Adjust T&Cs when you see the message

WhatsApp is asking users to accept the new terms and conditions. When you received this message, at the bottom you’ll see “Read more about the key updates to our terms and privacy policy.” If you tap this, you can then uncheck the checkbox that refers to sending data to Facebook.

whatsapp-post-image-one

 

2. Denying access if you accepted the new T&Cs

If you’ve already accepted the new T&Cs, you have 30 days to opt out. If you go to the Settings menu, and then to Account, you will see the tick-box at bottom to uncheck:

whatsapp-post-image-two

Once you untick this, you will no longer share any data with Facebook.

That’s all there is to it. Don’t forget if you have any other questions about WhatsApp, Facebook, or any other social media networks, please get in touch.