How to control your privacy on LinkedIn

As a professional networking platform, privacy on LinkedIn works differently from other social media sites. Users tend to be more willing to share personal information for networking purposes and usually they’re happy to allow others to be notified when they have viewed their profile.

For more cautious LinkedIn users, there are options to limit the visibility of your profile and browse through other people’s pages anonymously. If you’re unsure how to do this, then don’t worry. Just follow our handy guide on adjusting your privacy settings.

Limit your profile visibility

Without enabling restrictions, your entire LinkedIn profile will be viewable from a search engine. Some users prefer this set-up, seeing the website as an opportunity to reach out and network with like-minded professionals.

Not everyone does, though, and if you’re worried, drag your cursor over your profile picture in the top right-hand corner of the webpage and click ‘privacy and settings’ on the drop-down menu.

You’ll then be taken to another page, where you’ll see a range of options on display. Click ‘select who can see your activity feed’ to restrict what people see when you make a post or engage with another user. Select ‘change your profile photo and visibility’ to manage who can view your picture. Additionally, choosing ‘edit your public profile’ allows you to control what appears to visitors who aren’t members of LinkedIn. There’s also a clickable option for preventing people discovering your profile via your phone number.

Beware, though. Having a tightly guarded LinkedIn profile may hinder your ability to use the website for networking purposes, since fewer people will be able to see your information.

Browse anonymously

A unique feature of LinkedIn is its notification system, which informs users when someone has viewed their profile. If you’d prefer to browse profiles anonymously, meaning all that appears on the other user’s notification centre is ‘someone viewed your profile’, then click on ‘privacy and settings’ and ‘select what others see when you’ve viewed their profile’.

Here you’ll be presented with the option to hide your identity but reveal your job title, or to appear completely anonymous. There is a downside though – opting for total anonymity means you’ll lose your own profile stats and the ability to find out who’s been viewing your page.

Managing your privacy on LinkedIn is simple, but tightly regulating access to your account may infringe upon your ability to maximise the site’s networking potential.