How do I stop people from seeing my photos on Facebook?

One of the great things about social media networks such as Facebook is the opportunity to share your photos with your friends and family. However, these sites often have photo-sharing options beyond your immediate network and posting a photo within a social network could mean sharing it with the entire world.

 

The good news is that you own all content and information you post on Facebook This means that you can control who does, and who doesn’t, see any pictures you post.

 

Changing your Facebook image sharing settings:

  • Log into Facebook, click on the padlock icon on the toolbar along the top.

 

  • In the drop-down menu click ‘Who can see my stuff?’ You can choose from a range of options for those who can view your pictures, including Friends, Close Friends or Only me. Select one of these instead of ‘Public’ to avoid anyone on or off Facebook viewing your pictures.

 

Facebook privacy 1

  • For older photos that already appear on your timeline, you can also change the audience. Go to the padlock icon on the toolbar along the top.

 

  • In the drop-down menu click ‘See more settings’. On this page click ‘Limit Past Posts’.

 

For other social networks, you will need to follow the instructions in the Privacy or Settings menu to check that you are not unknowingly sharing photos with the public.