How can I tell if I’ve been blocked on WhatsApp?
Published: 28 July, 2022
Not getting replies to a WhatsApp message? Are your messages to a certain individual failing to send properly? There are several reasons this might be happening – from having no internet connection through to the recipient blocking you as a contact. But how can you tell it’s the latter? Here are five signs to tell if you’ve been blocked on WhatsApp.
It’s important to note that if someone has blocked you, it’s their own personal choice, and continuing to try and make contact with them could be considered harassment.
1. Can you see when they were last active?
The first way to see if someone has blocked you is to go open your chat window with them, and check at the status bar at the top. What you should see at the top under their name/number is the last time they were active on WhatsApp, but if you are blocked this will not appear. However, the person may have turned this feature off, so it’s not a sure sign of being blocked.
The last seen status that is only visible if the person has not blocked you
2. Is their photo greyed out when you view the chat window or their profile?
If someone has blocked you, when you select the chat window it will show up as the default greyed out picture, instead of their chosen picture. If on the general ‘Chats’ window it is a photo of them, only to be greyed out when you select your chat window with them, it could be an indicator you are blocked.
The greyed-out profile image from an account that has potentially blocked you
3. Are there multiple ticks on the message that you send?
When you send a message, if there are two checkmarks in the bottom right corner of the message, then the message has been delivered to the recipient. If there is only one check mark this means that the message has been sent on your side but has not been received on their end. This could mean that their phone has run out of battery, or they do not currently have service, or it could be a sign that you have been blocked.
An example of how a blocked message would appear
4. Does your call to them go through?
If you call someone who has blocked you, the call will continue to ring unanswered. However, it’s important to consider that if your call to them isn’t answered it could be because they have no phone battery or signal.
5. Can you add them to a WhatsApp group?
This method is the best way to tell if you’ve been blocked. If you try to add someone to a WhatsApp group and a message comes up saying ‘Can’t add participant’, there is a good chance you have been blocked.
The error message that appears when you try to add them to a WhatsApp group
For further information please visit: